Plain Politics NZ

In Parliament

New Zealand Labour Party

32.3%
Party vote
95% 29.9–34.6
38–43
Projected seats
in the House in 100% of runs
$1,009,814
Campaign ads
Google + Meta
38
MPs travelling
$6,035,241 on travel

Where it polls

Poll tracker →

The trend puts Labour at 32.3% of the party vote, with a 95% range of 29.9–34.6%. Clears 5%

Projected seats

Seat projection →

Across the simulations Labour takes 38–43 seats, and is in the House in 100% of runs.

Labour’s positions in its own words, quoted from its published material — 5 of 8 areas. Where it does not state a position, we say so rather than infer one.

Cost of living

“$20 a week is the most you'll pay to get around by bus or train under Labour. In place by 1 July 2027.”

$20 Fare Cap ↗
Tax

“A simple, targeted 28% tax on profit from selling investment property after 1 July 2027. Nine in 10 New Zealanders won't pay it.”

Capital Gains Tax ↗
Housing

not stated

Health

“Three free doctor's visits a year for everyone. Delivered with Labour's new Medicard.”

Free Doctor's Visits ↗
Education

“Labour will support more tradies with extended employer payments, a $1,000 toolbox grant, and five new trades covered. From 1 July 2027.”

Apprenticeship Boost ↗
Climate & environment

“Labour's SolarSaver is a fully-funded program to help homeowners, renters and communities get solar without the upfront cost.”

SolarSaver ↗
Law & order

not stated

Treaty & Māori affairs

not stated

Quoted from Labour's published 2026 election policy page. Its 2026 platform leads with health, transport, tax and energy measures; it does not state a housing, law-and-order or Treaty policy on that page, so those areas are not stated.

Campaign advertising

Advertising spend →
$553,000
Google
$456,814
Meta
$1,009,814
Total

Declared donations

Electoral Commission →

In 2025 Labour declared $864,404 in donations over $5,000 with the donor named — from 64 donors. Donations at or below that are real money but are disclosed only as a total, so this is a floor, not the whole.

Largest donors

  • MILLS FAMILY TRUST (Trustee: Phillip Mills)$125,000
  • ELLIOTT CLAUDIA$117,349
  • MILLS PHILLIP$38,200
  • MALONEY ANNE$21,096
  • HUBBARD RICHARD$20,000
  • FRIZZELL DICK$19,750
  • SADLER, ESTATE OF SHIRLEY ANN$18,633
  • HODGSON HON PETE$16,912
  • VAUGHAN FERGUSSON$16,800
  • JACKSON TANIA$16,000

This return was filed as a scanned image with no text layer, so its Part A donors were read by eye from the rendered form. They reconcile to the cent against the return's own printed Part A total.

The caucus

Expenses →